CNAS All-College Meeting 2019



Welcome

President and Provost



Welcome

CNAS NEW FACULTY

- Natasha DeVore Chemistry (BA Evangel University, MS and PhD University of Kansas) post-doc – Los Alamos National Laboratory
- Ngoc Do Mathematics (Diploma with Honors Southern Federal University, Russia, PhD – Texas A&M University) post-doc – University of Arizona
- Siming Liu Computer Science (BS and MS Hunan University, China, PhD University of Nevada – Reno)
- Jay McEntee Biology (BA and PhD University of California Berkeley) post-doc University of Arizona and University of Florida
- Sarah Morrison Astronomy (BA Cornell University, MS and PhD University of Arizona)
- Quinton Phelps Biology (AS Coffeyville Community College, BS and MS South Dakota State University, PhD – Southern Illinois University)
- Avery Russell Biology (BS Cornell University, PhD University of Arizona) post-doc
 University Pittsburgh, PA
- Melissa Schoeben Biology Instructor (BS and MS Missouri State University)



2019 Promotions

Promoted to Distinguished Professor

- Alicia Mathis BIO
- Kartik Ghosh PAMS

Promoted to Full Professor

- Xiaomin Qiu GGP
- Ridwan Sakidja PAMS
- Songfeng Zheng MTH
- Day Ligon BIO

Promoted to Associate Professor with tenure

- Albert Barreda HL
- Gary Michelfelder GGP
- Ron Malega GGP



CNAS PSIP Recipients

- 2019 Paul Durham (BIO) and Jorge Rebaza (MTH)
- 2018 Nick Gerasimchuk (CHM) and Mike Reed (PAMS)
- 2017 Les Reid (MTH) and Alexander Wait (BIO)
- 2016 Kartik Ghosh (PAMS), Reza Herati (CHM), Xingping Sun (MTH)
- 2015 Melida Gutierrez (GGP) and Cameron Wickham (MTH)
- 2014 10/30 from CNAS See full list https://www.missouristate.edu/provost/psiprecipients.htm



CNAS Master Planning Study

PROJECT TIMELINE

- Discovery and Analysis July-mid September
 2019
- Options Development mid-September through December 2019
- Refinement and Recommendations December 2019 through January 2020
- Final Report February/March 2020



CNAS Master Planning Study

SCOPE OF STUDY

- MTH, CSC, GGP, BIO, CHM, PAMS
- Cheek Hall, Kings Street Annex, Temple Hall,
 Kemper Hall, Classrooms in Plaster Stadium and
 Ozarks Science Center (new facility)



CNAS Master Planning Study

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS

- Tammy Jahnke, Dean
- Kyoungtae Kim, AD
- Xiaomin Qiu, AD
- Jorge Rebaza, AD
- Bill Bray, MTH
- Ajay Katangar, CSC
- Robin Powell, CSC and Administrative Assistants
- Laura Derrick, Design and Construction

- Toby Dogwiler, GGP
- Alicia Mathis, BIO
- Bryan Breyfogle, CHM
- Bob Mayanovic, PAMS
- Mike Murphy, CNAS electronic support
- Julie Vaughan, CNAS budget officer
- Brad Kielhofner, Facilities



Enrollment Management

Recruitment

Retention



Diversity and Inclusion

- NSF S-STEM
- NSF Advance
- HHMI IE3
- NSF ITEST (Dave Cornelison, Razib Iqbal, Keri Franklin)
- Are there more? Would you like to participate?



Resolutions for a New Academic Year

- https://www.chronicle.com/article/Resolutions-for-a-New-Academic/241061?utm_source=pm&utm_medium=en&ci d=pm By Philip Nel, Kansas State University
- "Democracy cannot succeed unless those who express their choice are prepared to choose wisely. The real safeguard of democracy, therefore, is education."
 - President Franklin Delano Roosevelt



Resolutions

- Remember that we are doing important work.
- Teach students to use language well.
- Be wary of the tendency to slip into false equivalencies.
- Incorporate current issues into the classroom, when we can.
- Tailor advice (such as mine) to our own individual abilities, personality, and ways of being in the world.
- Take care of yourself.
- Finally, find ways to kindle hope.



HAVE A GREAT SEMESTER!

