Leadership Team

Our leadership team consists of diverse faculty and administrators with a strong commitment to diversity and inclusion, and with a solid expertise in science, diversity, and institutional leadership.

Dr. Frank A. Einhellig

(PI), MSU Provost

Dr. Tamera S. Jahnke

(Co-PI and Project Manager), CNAS Dean

Melanie E. Carden-Jessen

(Co-PI), Instructor of Geography, Geology and Planning

Dr. Theresa A. Odun-Ayo

Dr. Theresa A. Odun-Ayo

Non-Student Part-Time
Electrical Engineering Faculty

(Co-PI), Professor of Electrical Engineering

Dr. Jorge L. Rebaza-Vasquez

(Co-PI), CNAS Associate Dean and Professor of Mathematics

Institutional Background

Missouri State University (MSU) is the second largest university in Missouri and was founded in 1905 as the Fourth District Normal School, and it is a comprehensive institution offering nearly 100 undergraduate and 50 graduate programs, including 6 professional doctorates. Our main campus in Springfield has over 24,000 students, making it the institution with more students from Missouri than any other university in the state. The MSU system has three additional smaller campuses - West Plains and Mountain Grove in Missouri and Dalian, in China. MSU has seven colleges, and the majority of students in NSF-Approved STEM Fields are in the College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CNAS). Our CNAS-STEM departments are Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Geography and Planning, Mathematics, Physics, Astronomy and Material Science, and a Cooperative Engineering Program in conjunction with Missouri University of Science and Technology, which includes Electrical, Civil and Mechanical Engineering. Except for the engineering program, all CNAS-STEM departments offer a master’s degree. In total, there are 1,823 undergraduate and 187 graduate CNAS-STEM majors. Psychology, with 997 undergraduate and 88 graduate majors, is in the College of Health and Human Services, and other science departments, including Sociology and Anthropology, Economics, History, and Political Science, with a total of 673 undergraduate and 113 graduate majors, are in the College of Humanities and Public Affairs.